Union Education

BC Federation of Labour 60th convention report for 2022

First and foremost, we would like to thank the membership for sending us to the convention.  Convention was held at the Pan Pacific Convention Centre. There were over 900 delegates in attendance from all over BC. It was amazing to be able to attend in person and see the work being done on the convention floor.

Over the 5 days, many important resolutions were passed, and we are proud to be a part of them.   We have listed below all the resolutions that have passed. If you wish to read them in full you can visit the BC Federation of Labour 2022 Convention website.

There were so many amazing Speakers throughout the week. They were all truly inspiring.  

David Eby,

KC MLA is a Canadian politician and lawyer who has been serving as the 37th and current premier of British Columbia since November 18, 2022, and has been serving as the leader of the British Columbia New Democratic Party since October 21, 2022

Elaine Alec

Elaine is from the Syilx (Okanagan) Nation and Secwepemc (Shuswap) Nation and is a member of the Penticton Indian Band in the Interior of British Columbia. She is the author of “Calling My Spirit Back” a memoir about growing up as an Indigenous girl in Canada and the impacts of colonization

Hon. Harry Bains

Minister Harry Bains became British Columbia’s first Minister of Labour in 2017. He is committed to bringing safety and fairness issues to the forefront of the labour conversation in B.C.

Bea Bruske

Bea Bruske was elected President of the Canadian Labour Congress at the 29th Constitutional Convention in 2021. She is only the second woman to hold the position.

Lily Chang

Lily Chang was elected Secretary-Treasurer of the Canadian Labour Congress (CLC) at the 29th Constitutional Convention in 2021. She is the first worker of East Asian descent elected to office at CLC.

Premier John Horgan

As Premier of British Columbia since 2017, John Horgan’s leadership is rooted in a strong sense of family and community.

Grand Chief Stewart Phillip

In October 2008, Grand Chief Stewart Phillip concluded his fourth consecutive four-year term as Chief of the Penticton Indian Band (PIB) and served the Band as Chief for a total of 14 years. In addition, he served as an elected Band Councillor for 10 years. Aside from serving as a member of the PIB Council for a total of 24 years, Grand Chief Phillip served as the Chair of the Okanagan Nation Alliance from 2004-2020.

April Sims

April Sims is the President-Elect of the Washington State Labor Council, AFL-CIO. Before that, April Sims acted as Secretary-Treasurer. She is the first woman of colour and the first Black person to be elected as a WSLC executive officer.

Jagmeet Singh

Leader of Canada’s New Democratic Party, Jagmeet Singh is a lawyer, a human rights activist, and a former MPP in Ontario. Jagmeet understands the struggles Canadians are faced with because as a young man, he had to step up and take care of his family

We would like to congratulate Susanne Skidmore as the new President of the BC Federation of Labour and Hermender Singh Kailey as the new Secretary-Treasurer. We wish you all the best and know we are in good hands. 

Please see the following link for a full list of all the resolutions that were passed at BC Federation Convention November 2022.

BC Fed Res passed